top of page


By Ruby Ingra

August 14, 2021


 

I need to confess that I have a mild, harmless, dumb love for the bits and bobs. All the bits and bobs. Every bit and every bob. Something about op shops (Aussie and New Zealander slang for thrift store) and the ridiculously amazing ornaments that they hold over me – I can’t help it! At some point, I’m sure, I’ll run out of room on my various bookshelves and tables; but today is not that day. Today is the day to revel in the stupidity, to enjoy our coin-priced ornaments, and to show off all our shiny tchotchkes.


So instead celebrate with me and join me on this wonderful exploration of my weird collection of bits and bobs. No agenda, I promise. I would never be secretly trying to convert you to my bits-and-bobs-addiction. Never.


I’ve done up some quick sketches of a few of my favourite finds. None of them, I’m sorry to say, have any real use outside of decorative; though a few of them were functional objects originally like the perfume bottle and salt shaker.



Old perfume bottles are a staple of second hand and antique stores. When I was young I always imaged them as nefarious poison bottles, relics of bygone adventures and escapades. These are likely more a respectable collectable compared to other pieces I’ve picked up, and I find this one so sweet and delicate.







Something about these cats’ faces… it’s hypnotic. They are small ceramics with such charm and humour in their tiny, strange faces and staring eyes. I’ll need to think of a good name for them at some point.





The dove is one of three hanging pieces made from plaster body and metal tin wings. I’ve hung them from the ceiling in my bedroom where they float about in the wind and sunshine. The trio were sourced from one of my favourite cafes that sells collectables as well as coffee.




The little fellow in the chef hat is, as may be discernible, a saltshaker. Currently he is the overseer of my kitchen rather than fulfilling his original design; however I like to think he’s graduated to the role of head chef.







The cute little deer is from a flea market and came with a succulent included. Unfortunately, not the most practical of plant pots – but who cares when it looks that cute.





The appeal and aesthetic charm of kitsch collectibles such as these makes me wonder about the attraction of nostalgia. I have to admit, none of my bits and bobs hold much in the way of design or beauty; but it’s their retro quality which I find so adorable. Perhaps part of me simply finds humour in filling my house with somewhat ridiculous oddities; but I think it goes beyond that. There is so much fun and excitement to be found by celebrating the odd and unusual, and so much soft reminiscence in symbols of the past and bygone.


*Illustrations by Ruby Ingra//



Ruby Ingra

Ruby is a literature, journalism and communications student based in Australia. When she finally finishes uni, she’s aiming towards working in magazines and publishing. She is especially interested in cultural, environmental and gender issues within her work; and is the creator behind the small-scale zine, Pocket Baby. Other than that, she is ridiculously obsessed with her pet chickens, probably spends too much time playing mid-2000s video games, and thinks Autumn is undoubtedly the best season of the year.

bottom of page