top of page


By Emily Bryant

April 19, 2021


 

Jane Austen is a name that has been present in pop culture for decades. Whether you know who she was, confuse her with other writers of similar fiction (like the Brontës), or know simply of the name itself, she has become an ever-present entity in our media. Those who do know of her often perceive her as a woman very much of her time. Tales of dowry romance and social hierarchy all seem very old-fashioned, right?


Personally, such a reputation led me to avoid Austen’s works for a long time. As someone who never really related to being feminine, I thought her books were too ‘girly’ and not worth my time. It was only in the last year I managed to read her work (and that was due to obligation for university). But, despite all my preconceived ideas about it, I was pleasantly surprised by Austen’s novels. Her protagonists were funny and intelligent, and I got invested in these stories that were so far removed from my own life and experiences. And for a while, I was genuinely confused as to my enjoyment of it. I was rooting for characters that I would never have identified with before, in situations that were not plausible to me. Why? 


Well, I’ve given it some thought and found a couple of reasons. The most prominent one is the protagonists of her stories. Despite their representations in many film adaptations, a lot of her core characters are layered and complex. And (most importantly in my opinion) they are flawed. Elinor and Marianne Dashwood are two sides of the same coin and needed each other to balance themselves out. Elizabeth Bennet is witty and caring but blinded by her preconceptions of the people around her. Emma Woodhouse is manipulative and arrogant, making her oblivious to the feelings of others. We see female characters that struggle, experience complex emotions, and are more than just the damsel in distress. Considering everything I had previously believed about Austen, this was baffling to me. Reading about Elizabeth being sarcastic and compassionate and hard-headed allowed me to relate to her, and see her as a fully fleshed-out person. I felt I understood these women as people. This made it easier to understand their emotions and aspirations and get behind them in their stories. Even Emma, who Austen herself stated was a character that “no one but myself will much like”, is digestible because of her naivety and good intentions. Austen created heroines that were grounded and real, and we as readers are able to connect with them because of it.


In addition, the time when I read these novels definitely impacted my reading experience. I first read her novels in the autumn of last year, when the world was still at the height of the pandemic (as many of us still are). I was living away from my family and had become increasingly paranoid about going beyond the threshold of my front door. My anxieties had trapped me indoors for many hours of the day, and such enclosure had contributed to a mental health spiral. While critical material in recent years has deviated away from Austen’s work as ‘escapist’ literature, I think that it functioned in exactly that way for me. I could forget about the world of epidemics and government restrictions for a few hours as I read about the trials and tribulations of regency women, who worried about who they would marry and if it could support their families. I loved Marianne’s free spirit and Elizabeth’s quick wit, feeling like they channeled aspects of myself I had regressed away from. These stories that were far removed from real life allowed me to be away from my struggles and invest in social politics, regency history, and complex character dynamics. Her novels offered freedom I felt I did not have.


So, if you’re looking for a novel that has intricate characters and helps you escape your day-to-day life, I highly recommend picking up some Jane Austen. Her work may not be for everyone, but I found a love for it that I never knew was possible. Ignore what you’ve heard and seen about it (perhaps even my review here), and try it for yourself. Who knows? You might be as surprised.




Emily Bryant

Emily is an English Literature student with a love for writing. She is passionate about writing on women’s and LGBTQ+ experiences and issues, providing well-researched ideas and concepts for any readership. She is currently based in South Wales and enjoys photography, writing and playing tabletop role playing games.



bottom of page